ICT Workforce Development and Thailand 4.0: Shifting from Quantity to Quality

Tuesday, 12/4   |   1:30 pm – 2:30 pm   |   Room 201

Saowaruj Rattanakhamfu​

Senior Research Fellow, Thailand Development Research Institute (TDRI)

Thailand

Under Thailand 4.0 vision, one of the most important mechanisms to propel the country into a high-income country is the development of 10 existing and new “S-Curve” industries as the new engine of growth. To promote the development of 10 “S-Curve” industries, the Eastern Economic Corridor (EEC) is designed to attract foreign and domestic investment in these industries to the three eastern provinces of Chonburi, Rayong and Chachoengsao.

Although the EEC is a major progress in transforming Thailand into Thailand 4.0, there are still impediments to drive this strategy. Thailand still lacks a large number of highly-skilled professionals, which prevents the country from engaging in high value-added activities. In particular, the structure of workforce in the EEC shows that half of the workforce only possess high school education. The remaining 2/3 of the workforce has vocational education level and the remaining holds undergraduate or higher education level. It reflects that the majority of the workforce in the EEC is not engaged in high value-added activities.

For Thai IT workforce, the big challenge is that there is a large amount of IT workers but a small number of high-quality IT workers. Last year, Thailand produced 20,000 new graduates in computer-related subjects. At the same time, there were 7,000 computer-related graduates, including those who graduated in previous years, who were unemployed. Meanwhile, the business sector complained about the lack of workforce. It reflects the problems of skill mismatch and low-quality of graduates.

One cause for the skill mismatch and low-quality of graduates is the out-of-date curricula, unable to catch up with the rapid technological changes, such as cloud computing and internet of things (IoT). Many do not even contain enough essential IT contents, such as information management, system paradigms, integrated systems technology and user experience design, for IT professionals. Consequently, many graduates have skills that do not meet the industry demand.

The lack of highly-skilled IT manpower is major barrier towards the development of targeted industries in the EEC. If Thailand is to acquire more highly-skilled IT manpower to meet the demand of the targeted industries in the EEC, then the problem must be solved urgently. In order to meet the demand for high-quality IT manpower in the EEC, the Thai government should initiate a pilot project for targeted industries in EEC. The Thai government should also implement short, medium, and long-term improvements simultaneously as well as draw lessons learned from the pilot project to implement the successful implementations nationwide.

Ms. Saowaruj Rattanakhamfu has been in TDRI since 2002 and is familiar with latest trend and development in Thailand.  She has participated in various research projects in Thailand and ASEAN. Also, TDRI plays an important role to provide professional suggestion to the nation and important inputs to Eastern Economic Corridor (EEC), one of the largest project in Thailand in these years.

資通科技(ICT)的人力發展與泰國4.0:由量提升為質的轉變

12月4日 (星期二)   |   1:30 pm – 2:30 pm   |   Room 201

Saowaruj Rattanakhamfu​

泰國發展研究院高級研究員

泰國

目前泰國工業4.0的願景,旨在整合國內既有與新型的10個「S曲線」產業發展,以此機制引動泰國的經濟成長並成為高收入國家。為了促進前述 「S曲線」產業發展,政府以三個東部省份建構東部經濟走廊(EEC),包含春武里府,羅勇府和北柳府,藉此吸引國內產業資金挹注。EEC是泰國工業4.0的重大計畫,然而,因為泰國目前仍缺乏大量的高科技專業人員來從事高產值的活動,結果形成推動EEC的阻礙,特別是EEC勞動結構中僅受過高中教育的國民就佔半數,其餘半數中的2/3受過職業教育,1/3則擁有高等教育學歷。

泰國IT人力資源目前最大的挑戰是: 人數眾多的IT員工,但高素質員工僅佔少數。 以去年資料為例,泰國國內電腦相關科系的畢業生有20,000名,該年卻有7,000名電腦相關科系的畢業生(含非當年畢業的)處於失業狀態。與此同時,工商界尚出現抱怨缺乏勞動力的聲音。 以上情形皆在反應出泰國IT人力資源學用不符與畢業生素質低落之問題。

造成學用不符和畢業生素質低落的原因之一,是學校提供的課程早已過時,無法趕上雲端計算和物聯網(IoT)等現今重要科技變革的速度。甚至許多課程內容未達培育IT人才基礎課程的標準,例如資訊管理,系統典範,系統科技整合和使用者經驗設計等內容。致使畢業生的技能不符合業界的需求。

泰國EEC目標產業發展需要大量高素質的IT人才,但目前泰國國內仍缺乏高素質的IT人才,成為阻礙EEC目標產業發展的主因,此問題亟待解決。為了滿足EEC目標產業發展對高素質IT人力的需求,泰國政府應該啟動EEC目標產業的試辦計畫,同時進行短、中、長期的改良,並從試辦計畫中汲取經驗,以期能成功落實全國性的實施。

Saowaruj Rattanakhamfu女士於2002年在泰國發展研究院(TDRI)擔任高級研究員迄今,十分熟悉泰國最新的發展趨勢,其職責在於提供專業建議促進國家發展,是TDRI的要員之一。目前執掌泰國近期的重點計畫:東部經濟走廊計畫(Eastern Economic Corridor),在過去曾加入泰國與東南亞國家協會(ASEAN)的多項研究計畫。