A Systematic Approach for Change Management: Lessons from a Japanese Company’s Challenge with HPI

Wednesday, 12/5   |   9:00 am – 10:00 am   |   Room 201

Masayuki Imamura

General Manager, Information Services International-Dentsu, Ltd. (ISID)

Japan

Japan has government initiatives called “HATARAKIKATA KAIKAKU” (work style reform/improvement). They are facing a big challenge in the work environment with a decreasing population and aging society. Moreover, according to the OECD survey, labor productivity in Japan places 20th among the 35 member countries of OECD.

To make the organization a better place to work, one company has been conducting a lot of initiatives, such as shortening work time, improving work-life balance, and so on. They focused on a work-life balance program. However, the initiative’s goal was not clear throughout the organization and they did not have a precise root cause analysis process, so employees started to create “solutions” based on their assumptions. Consequently, they could not reach the expected result in two years.

While they were searching for the next approach, they found HPI (human performance improvement). HPI is a results-based change management model to see the problems as the whole system rather than focusing on a specific problem with a specific solution alone. Based on the HPI concept, this organization set improving employee engagement as a goal of work style reform. They set several indicators to achieve the goal and promote the HPI change management process by showing the clear correlation between several factors found in the survey. The organization’s practice of the HPI-based change management made more people not only focus on their practice of the development opportunities, but also recognize their step-by-step accomplishments as the result of their actions. It encouraged employees’ sense of ownership. In this session, you’ll gain valuable lessons from the change management practice of HPI that can help you avoid the early mistakes this company made.

Masayuki Imamura is a general manager of the Work Style Innovation Acceleration department and HR manager at Information Services International-Dentsu Ltd. (ISID). ISID provides integrated business solutions, which the company plans, designs, develops, and maintains, and provides consulting services, hardware configuration, and software support. Masayuki has been responsible for HRM/HRD for over 25 years. After obtaining a bachelor’s degree in economics from Waseda University, he worked at Sharp Corporation, a group company in Hon Hai/Foxconn Technology Group. Masayuki has been a member of the HPI Forum in ATD’s International Network in Japan since 2017.

變革管理的系統化方法:日本公司應對HPI挑戰之借鑑

12月5日 (星期三)   |   9:00 am – 10:00 am   |   Room 201

Masayuki Imamura

電通國際情報服務株式會社總經理

日本

由於人口減少與老化,日本的工作環境正面臨著巨大的挑戰。並根據OECD組織的調查,日本的勞動生產率在組織的35個會員國裡排名第二十,因此日本政府提倡「働き方改革」,即「工作風格改革/改良」。

以日本國內某家公司為例,該公司為了改善工作場所,實施了以下措施:縮短工作時間、改善「工作-生活」平衡等,特別是「工作-生活」平衡計畫。然而,該計劃執行時並無訂定明確的目標,亦無精確的原因分析程序,僅依據員工以經驗創建下的“解決方案”,最後他們無法於兩年內達到原先預期的結果。而在尋找下一個新方案時,他們發現了「人力績效改善(HPI)」方案。

HPI將問題視為系統性,而非只關注特定問題、如何單獨解決的變革管理模式。基於HPI概念,該組織將「提升員工工作投入力」作為工作風格改革的目標,並設定了達成指標,更透過分析影響因素間的相關性來推動HPI變革管理之流程。該組織藉由落實HPI變革管理促使更多人關注HPI的實踐及組織行動的成果,更激發員工的自主意識。在本場演講中,您將從HPI變革管理實踐的範例中獲得寶貴的經驗,協助貴公司避免組織經營前期可能發生的錯誤。

Masayuki Imamura先生學成自早稻田大學獲得經濟學系,畢業後即進入夏普公司工作(現為鴻海/富士康科技集團旗下公司),之後進入電通國際情報服務株式會社(ISID)工作風格創新加速部門擔任總經理暨人資經理,負責HRM / HRD超過25年,並於2017年起成為日本ATD國際網路HPI論壇的成員。Masayuki Imamura所任職之ISID公司主要業務為:提供整合性的業務解決方案、處理方案、設計開發和維護作業,並提供諮詢、硬體配置以及軟體支援等服務。