Boost Training Transfer Using Predictive Learning Analytics

Tuesday, 12/4   |   2:45 pm – 3:45 pm   |   Main Room

Ken Phillips

CEO, Phillips Associates

USA

Research indicates that the amount of money and time wasted in the typical training program is likely to be between 45 and 85 percent. This percentage, known as “scrap learning,” is the gap between learning that is delivered and learning that is applied back on the job. It is the flip side of training transfer. Until recently, there has never been an effective way to measure, monitor, and manage the amount of scrap learning associated with a training program.

Now, with predictive learning analytics, all that has changed. In this session, you will learn how to predict, immediately following a learning program, which participants are most and least likely to apply what they learned in the program back on the job; which managers of the participants are likely to do a good or a poor job of supporting the training; and which of the three training transfer components—learning program design, learner attributes, and learner work environment—are contributing the most and least to training transfer. In addition, you also will learn how to calculate the amount of scrap learning associated with the program and to identify obstacles inhibiting participants from applying what they learned.

Ken Phillips, CPLP, is the creator and chief architect of the Predictive Learning Analytics™ (PLA) learning evaluation methodology. He has more than 30-years’ experience designing learning instruments and assessments and has authored more than a dozen published learning instruments.  Ken also regularly speaks to Association for Talent Development (ATD) groups, university classes and corporate L&D groups. Since 2008, he has spoken at the ATD International Conference on topics related to measurement and evaluation of learning. In addition, since 2013 Ken has spoken at Training magazine’s annual conference and expo on topics related to measurement and evaluation. 

Prior to pursuing a Ph.D. in the combined fields of organization behavior and educational administration at Northwestern University, Ken held management positions with two colleges and two national corporations. In addition, he has written articles that have appeared in td magazine, Training Today and HR.com, and is a contributing author to five books in the L&D field.

Ken earned the Certified Professional in Learning and Performance (CPLP) credential from ATD in 2006 as a pilot pioneer and was re-certified in 2009, 2012, 2015 and again in 2018.

預測性學習分析優化遷移訓練

12月4日 (星期二)   |   2:45 pm – 3:45 pm   |   Main Room

Ken Phillips

菲利普斯協會執行長

美國

相關研究指出,於傳統的培訓計畫中可能會有45%至85%的經費和時間是浪費掉的,此即為「閒置學習百分比」,意即個體在培訓過程中所習得的技能與其應用於工作上的差距,此為職業培訓後,將技能遷移至工作時所產生的另一個問題。而截至「預測性學習分析」方法出現之前,未能有效衡量、監控和管理這類閒置學習。如今,藉由應用「預測性學習分析」,將改善目前閒置學習的問題。

在此場講座中,與會者將藉由接下來的學習計畫來瞭解如何應用「預測性學習分析」,並且用該方法去預測:在場的與會者有多少比例能將所習得的技能運用至目前的工作上、哪些與會者的主管支持這個培訓課程,以及三個培訓遷移元素(設計學習計畫、學習者的屬性、學習者的工作環境)哪個對培訓成效會有最佳或最低的貢獻。除外,與會者還將學習如何計算與該計畫相關的閒置學習百分比,以及發現參與者於應用所學知識遇到的障礙。

Ken Phillips先生為CPLP(Certified Professional in Learning and Performance)之執行長,身兼預測學習分析 (Predictive Learning Analytics, PLA)之學習評估方法的創建者和首席系統架構師。Ken Phillips執行長於設計學習工具和成效評估的領域,擁有超過30年的經驗,已發表了十多種學習工具。Ken Phillips執行長亦定期與人才發展協會(ATD)小組、大學課程小組和企業L&D小組進行交流。 自2008年以來,已在ATD國際會議舉辦了數場測量和學習評估相關主題的演講。此外,從2013年開始,Ken Phillips執行長也在培訓雜誌的年度會議和博覽會上發表測量和評估相關主題的演說。

Ken Phillips執行長在西北大學攻讀組織行為和教育管理領域的博士學位之前,曾於兩所大學和兩間國營公司擔任管理職。同時,他也是位專欄專書作家,其文章曾刊於td雜誌、今日培訓和HR.com上,並撰有與L&D領域相關的書籍共計五冊。Ken Phillips執行長於2006年獲頒ATD學習和績效認證(CPLP)專家,被視為該領域發展的先鋒。並持續於2009、2012、2015、2018年獲得CPLP認證。